Gettin’ Wiggy Wit It


I went with my friend C to try on wigs during my DF visit a couple weeks ago. I wanted to get a wig I could wear to work events over the next few months as my hair grows in. I’m increasingly comfortable going without any sort of head covering, but there are times when I want to be able to blend in without anyone asking any questions. C came with an ulterior motive: finding a wig that could also serve my Halloween purposes, since we both love the holiday.

I posted these pics on Facebook, but neglected you, dear readers! My bad.

First off, here’s me, au naturel, on the way up to Boston:

The wig fitter was very accommodating, even though she struggled to find something that fit the bill. I told her I was looking for a dark brown wig, short to medium-length. C took pictures along the way, but we agreed the very first wig was NOT worth a photo. I can see how people really get into wigs, though, after having the chance to try on all these different looks. So here you go, a selection of the good, the bad, and the ugly.

I like to call this one the “TR” because I thought it made me look remarkably like my friend TR. I liked it, but it would be weird to steal my friend’s look.
“The Flip.” Meh. It’s ok, but nothing special. The bangs made me crazy.
The “No Thank You.” Who would pay $300 for this??
The “Touch of Color.” Again, meh. Magenta-heads are said to have more fun, though.
The “Ellen Barkin.” I was trying to channel her cool, sultry look. No dice, but it was still fun.

 

The “First Grade Teacher.” (Meaning no disrespect to my readers who are first grade teachers, but this reminded me a lot of one of my first grade teachers: respectable, in control, but not very exciting.)
The “Richard Simmons.” Need I say more?
I called this the “Old Lady VaVaVoom” when I posted on Facebook, but I’ve since decided to call it the “Mother of Dragons,” in honor of Daenerys Stormborn of the Game of Thrones series.

I felt like a bad ass in the Mother of Dragons wig. It’s hard to tell in the photo, but it had a hint of lavender with the silver color, as well as black at the roots. I loved this wig. It definitely satisfied C’s Halloween objective, but it didn’t fit in with my work objective very well.

Finally, I picked the winner. Nothing fancy, but it felt most like me (without all the grays!). It’s much straighter than my real hair, and a different color, but C and I agreed that this one looked most like real hair. It has a shine and movement that looks natural.

After all of this excitement, it was on to bloodwork and then infusion for chemo #11. Thanks for such a fun day, C. 🙂

Look at that smile! This lady can make just about anything fun.
Gettin’ Wiggy Wit It

One thought on “Gettin’ Wiggy Wit It

Leave a Reply

