Seriously Snarky

Consider that headline a warning.

My friend J took me to chemo last week and discovered that the DF gift shop’s front display was a bunch of useless stuff celebrating beach life. First off, yes, even cancer centers have gift shops. Second, why on Earth are they selling beach life tsotchkes?

Sure, it’s late July. I suppose this is the time when normal gift shops are pushing these items hard, and even starting to mark them down before the seasonal market floats away like a summer breeze.

But it struck both of us as a little off for a cancer center gift shop. So we decided to edit the cute sayings on these signs and beer cozies to make them more subject appropriate.

I offer you the original products and our reworked versions.

img_7198-2.jpg
Best weekend ever…Wasn’t admitted

Best weekend ever…No diarrhea!

Or, instead of “good times and tan lines,” how about “Fluorescent lights and IV bags”?


Heaven is a little closer…when you have cancer

If I can’t wear a surgical mask, I’m not going

Life needs less chemotherapy and radiation

Herceptin Sweet Herceptin

And my favorite:


A good day at the cancer center ends with…leaving

Thanks for the giggles, J.

***

In other news, that was treatment #12. Only 3 to go!

My numbers continue to decline, meaning that I’m in the normal range for most categories. The liver tumor markers are still a little bit elevated, but they’ve come down so much that we can only be thrilled by these numbers.

The chemotherapy induced peripheral neuropathy has started to become more consistent on my left thumb and index finger. It’s not bad at this point, and is generally isolated to my fingertips and toes. I have numbness is most of my finger tips at this point, on both hands, and occasional tingly sensations in my fingertips or a sort of electrical zap through my (left) hand. Sometimes the numbness in these fingers makes it a little difficult to do normal things like wash dishes. It’s especially hard to maintain a grip on wet dishes, but I’ve not yet broken anything. This particular side effect can get very painful and debilitating for some people, and it’s often the reason people stop their chemotherapy treatments early. With three weeks to go, I’m hoping I’ll be done with chemo before this gets too bad.

Nurse M told me recently that neuropathy symptoms typically subside fairly soon after chemo treatments stop. Fingers crossed.

Seriously Snarky

Leave a Reply

